Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hey SVsquad,
Are there any women or know of any women who've ridden the SV650?
I am 110lbs, 5'3 and I went halves on a old, broken down, SV650 with my ex. We fixed it up and I started learning to ride on it. Then of course he sold it.
I've always ridden on the back of my dads cruisers, friends bikes and I ride dirtbikes.. everyone tells me to get the ninja 400 but I feel like I would get bored of that bike quick. I remember the SV was super reliable, easy to work on and was comfortable to ride. I'm smaller but I know how to ride generally but not too much solo/driving street experience.

Wanted the groups input. I don't want to bite off too much for my first, very own street bike but I have good throttle control so I know I'd be able to have self awareness and discipline over the bike. I just want to have power there when I need it and not get caught in a bad situation from lack of power.

Should I suck it up and get a small cc for my first street bike or do you guys think I would be ok on a 650 if I start out slow through neighborhoods and stuff?

Also, do you guys ever adjust suspension to your weight like we do on dirtbikes?

Thank you!馃槉

Registered
Although I'm not a girl I bought my 2018 sv from a mtbing friend who bought it for his girl friend. While they were together and she riding the bike, she seemed to really enjoy the sv. She is 5'8" around 135lbs, had a Honda Rebel 500 for a year or two before the sv.
I've had several opportunities to ride two different Ninja 400s, I don't think you'll be too bored with it. It's a fun, reliable, comfortable, capable bike. Have you had the opportunity to test ride a Ninja 400?

Registered