Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was recently told by a freind how to quickshift and that's all I do now. Does anyone else upshift this way? Are there any drawbacks to this type of shifting? I heard that as ong as i don't do it in the shift to second I should be alright. is that true?

·
Registered
498 Posts
I always use the clutch down shifting and I clutchless up shift only when I am hard on the throttle.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I do it sometimes. Not all the time though b/c im not sure if it "hurts" anything... Im a noob to motorcycles. Im pretty sure you cant do it from 1st to 2nd though.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Why would you even take a chance at damaging your bike? If you really want to "quick-shift", there is a device that racers use to shift without the clutch that momentarily kills the ignition to allow you to shift without the clutch and not do any damage to your engine, clutch, transmission, etc. Here's a description from the Holeshot website:

" In the beginning...

In 1977 when Dale built his first 8 second Kawasaki turbo charged drag bike, air shifters, rev limiters, and under-cut transmissions were unheard of. The rider would simply back off the throttle for an instant (throttle-shift) or hold the throttle wide open and fan the clutch (power-shift) to select the next gear during a drag race. Running 30 lbs of boost with around 250 horsepower on tap was awesome back then. But when you missed a shift it got really ugly. Bent valves, damaged pistons, cylinder head damage, and even a trashed crank shaft was not uncommon.
The Electric Powershifter Idea