Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, i need the help of all you SV mechanic gurus.

i recently had a lowspeed accident that ripped the front fairing of my 05 SV650s apart and scuffed the right fork and swingarm. they're still good, mechanically speaking, but i was thinkin this would be the perfect time to uprade the suspension. i looked thru that gigantic sticky about fork swaps but cant make heads or tails of it since i have no experience with motorcycle suspension plus theres so many ppl sayin so many different things that its confusing to figure out what works and what doesnt. im assuming from what i read that a k5 gsxr 600 frontend will bolt right up to my k5 SV but ill lose my speedometer? will the connections for the throttle and clutch also bolt right up? whats the years of gsxr frontends that will fit on k3-k6 sv? i guess all k5 gsxr 600/750/1000 frontends will bolt onto a k5 SV? will i be able to use my top triple clamp and ignition/starter or will i also have to get that? god i wish i knew what would work. seems like a huge mess between parts that will and will not work. :-\

i also saw that other thread about possibly changin out the swingarm, i was readin into it and from what i got is that the k5 gsxr 600 swingarm will bolt right up except that the exhaust would be in the way somehow... should i buy a gsxr 600 swingarm and shock?

what would u guys do? should i make the bike back to stock or try and upgrade a bit? street fighter it or go back to fairings? i like both looks, just kinda confused on what i should do and need a lil insight.

id love to upgrade the front forks and swingarm/shock, but i lack the knowhow... but im willing to figure this whole mess out. i cant think of everything i need to ask right now, ill reply back when i run into those questions. i know ill have more questions. ;D

·
Registered
397 Posts