Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm new to riding, and also new to a 2006 SV650s. After having it for a short time, I wrecked it pretty bad. Well, the frame and motor are fine, but there is a nice dent in the gas tank, and the front faring is gone, also where the back seat is, thats split open so the tail light is just hanging there. I'm not a baller by any means, and i know it's going to cost some money to get it fixed. My question is, theres a guy in my nighbore hood who owns a motorcycle shop. He says he can make it just like new for around 3 grand. He says he already has the parts at his shop. However they are 2005 parts, which he says will work. I also got pre-approved at the dealership where i bought the bike for like another 11,000. So I was thinking, I should just take the bike to them and let them do what they do and than just charge it. I don't know, but I'm sure the dealership will rape me more than the guy from my neighbore hood. I know it would be a lot cheaper to just order the parts, and do it myself, but i have no clue to what I'd be doing. Whats the best way to handle this?

·
Registered
2,737 Posts
$3k to fix that is way to steep.  so long as nothing is bent and its just cosmetics you can fix it cheap.  i just had to replace my tail on my 05 and i bent the sub-frame.  cost me $75 to fix the sub-frame, and brand new the tail pieces are only $200 bux from oneida suzuki.

i don't imagine the front fairing can cost $2000 even if you had to replace the headlights.  and if thats the case just do what every one else who loops an S does and street fighter it.

the only thing that might cost money is the dent removal but even then you can buy a brand new gas tank for $500 bux so i still can't figure out how that price is justified.

p.s. where are you?  i'll fix it for cost of parts plus 100 bux.

·
Registered
70 Posts