Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a 2005 sv650s with a burning oil problem. I am 99% sure it’s not leaking as I have not found any leaks under when checking. Around every 200 miles I’m having to fill 1/4 of a quart. When I accelerate there is a small amount of smoke that comes out the back that you can only see when stopped. Also the inside of the exhaust has lots of black stuff which I’m guessing is burned oil. I am talking to two mechanics and one is saying he thinks it’s the piston rings and the only ways to see for sure is to take apart the engine and see and then replace the piston rings and rebuild the heads. The second one is saying that I should to a compression test and a leak down test to diagnose it first. The second one however is saying that won’t do anything and need to tear it down. Not sure what I should do as I am new to bike repair and would appreciate any advice

·
Premium Member
292 Posts
I'd definitely do the compression and leak down tests to see just what is going on in the motor. See if it's pretty much the same with both cylinders, or if it's consentrated in one. Either way it's going to require a tear down to fix.

·
Premium Member
'18 SV650
84 Posts
Do the test, but it's very likely the rings. Mechanic #1 may not be talking straight; or else he knows very little about engines.

Does the engine produce excessive oil smoke when you start it after it's been sitting overnight? If so, then there may be worn valve guides or seals, and that would justify Mechanic #2's claim that the heads need to be rebuilt. If not, and if Mech#2 hasn't done any tests with a vacuum gauge, then he also may not be talking straight. Or he may be arguing that as long as he has everything apart you might as well have him do the valves. That could be a fair argument if the bike has high mileage.

·
very big dumb
9,102 Posts
are you checking the oil with the bike vertical?