Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have an 06 sv and wondering if i should upgrade the rear shock, im not a very aggresive rider, mostly just around town with some weekend trips and twisty riding, i also ride 2 up a bit in the summer. im 130lbs so do i need to upgrade the shock? if so which is best?

thanks

·
Registered
639 Posts
You can use a GSXR 600 or 1000. If you can find one for cheap go for the ZX-6r shock.

I Have been using a GSXR 600 for about 2 years now, and me am happy. I weight 130Lbs and also have a 06.

·
Registered
138 Posts
i have an 06 sv and wondering if i should upgrade the rear shock, im not a very aggresive rider, mostly just around town with some weekend trips and twisty riding, i also ride 2 up a bit in the summer. im 130lbs so do i need to upgrade the shock? if so which is best?
gsx-r 600 k4-5
you don't need it if the bike has less than 10000miles. if not *an almost new* gsxr would be a reasonable and cheap upgrade

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
Don't use a ZX-6R shock - they're sprung way too high for your weight.

Race Tech recommends a rear spring rate of 7.63kg/mm for a 130lb rider. '04-'05 GSX-R600 is 7.6kg/mm, which is spot on.

If you want a little stiffer shock for two-up, '05-'06 GSX-R1000 has an 8.1kg/mm spring rate.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I would think you would know from the handling, I just got an '03 with 13k on it and it wallows like a pig in the corners...I am 200 pounds and went with a '04 GSXR 1000 shock to better fit my weight.

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
doesn't sound like you really need to upgrade the shock right now; super-low miles, no track days, mostly a commuter. how often do you carry a passenger? if a lot, a stiffer sprung shock will be appreciated, if not all that often, then you're fine. if you just want to, just to upgrade it, i agree with some of the other posters, find a shock with a similar spring.

·
Registered
680 Posts