Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I've only been riding for about 3 years, and would consider myself to be a novice-intermediate rider. Not a total beginner, but by no means experienced. Recently I was involved in a single-vehicle accident (of my own causing) wherein I was not paying attention to the turn and ran off the road. I was going the speed limit (45mph), it was a VERY shallow turn (as in I could see all the way through it. Maybe 35degree turn... if that..). Not leaning over hard, not going fast, literally just cruising. I was not paying attention to the road (my eyes were on the scenery of a gorgeous farm with lake and cabin) and when I looked up I was approaching the apex of the turn, on the very outside edge of my lane. By the time I had looked up, it was more or less inevitable that my front wheel was going to run off the edge of the pavement. As luck would have it, this was one of those roads where the shoulder had eroded severely so there was a 2"-3" dropoff from the pavement to the gravel. As soon as I saw where I was heading I pretty much knew I was going down. Sure enough, front wheel nosed off the pavement, complete loss of front traction, lowsided and slid about 60ft.