Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
saw this on my local forum. RIP. everyone ride safe out there. :(

last night in Long Branch i happened to be on my way home from a gig with my band and i saw a ton of flashing lights on ocean blvd in west end. since im a firefighter and im allowed to be nosey i checked it out. turns out there were 2 people on an SV650 heading north on ocean blvd. a minivan made a left turn in front of them and they hit the front of the van. the first thing i saw was the van. the entire front of this thing was wiped out; they prettymuch hit the thing on an angle, sort of sideswiping it so you could see the engine from the front. the front bumper was laying on the sidewalk away from the van, and the rest of the front was all over the road. then i saw the bike. the bike was split in half at the frame weld. so the front of the frame, the triple clamp, forks, clip ons and mangled front wheel were laying in one spot, and the back half of the bike was laying in another about 10 feet away. since the left side of the bike hit the van, both passengers tore their legs up. the operator of the bike was pretty much history from the get go. he had a superior open fracture of the femur (which means the bone was sticking out of the top of his leg). and he also had an open compound fracture of his patella/tibia/fibia. his patella was completely displaced and all the bones were sticking out. looked like his leg was in a blender basically. his passenger was alive when they got there and she was trying to get up, but her left leg was amputated, and she was in total shock because she didnt even know what happened. i know she was transported to jersey shore and she coded on the way so they were doing cpr when she arrived there. i heard one rumor that she died on the way and another that she was in the OR there, so im not so sure about her. i know she was thrown almost 300 feet and he was thrown about 17