Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to have this checked out as its annoying. Under 3k RPM there is a rattle - not exactly metallic. I just tightened, cleaned, and lubed my chain. It needed it but didn't fix the rattle. I've gone over the front end and didn't find anything loose. It sounds like its coming from half way down the forks someplace but who knows. I wish I had a go pro to record it. Performance isn't impacted but it's annoying and pretty loud. Any ideas that may be obvious for this noob?

Sent from my Motorcycle iPad app

·
Registered
608 Posts
Could be the clutch basket, I have heard those tend to make a rattling noise. Sort of like some pebbles getting swished around in a plastic cup?? But I am not an expert on it by any means, just what I have heard is a semi-common thing with these bikes.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Not the headlight, it's tight. If it was this clutch basket thing is it dangerous?

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Registered
818 Posts
Not the headlight, it's tight. If it was this clutch basket thing is it dangerous?
Perhaps inside the headlight bucket. You might consider removing the headlght bucket and see if the rattle is still there. The rattle on my 06 SV650N was something loose inside the bucket. It's been a few years, and I don't recall exactly what was loose.

·
Registered
608 Posts

From what I understand, it's not dangerous, just a bit annoying. Hopefully someone can chime in with a bit more info. But I would check out inside the bucket as LT suggested.

·
Registered
1,180 Posts
If it's the clutch basket, you'll hear the rattle go away when the clutch lever is pulled in.

·
Registered
1,180 Posts
Clutch noises are associated with SV1000, not 650 I believe.
My clutch basket rattles at idle (650) until I pull the clutch lever in. Always has.