Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My experience prior to the SV650 was limited , but I had been riding on and off since 1987 or so. Though any real or useful experience I gained was in my 2 years of SV ownership. So in a way the SV was my first "real" motorcycling experience.

Ive never taken an MSF , failed my first try at the driving skills portion of the MC license test on my SV and got a 100% the second try.
I have read a few books including a Twist of the Wrist 2 and have learned alot just by reading at forums like this one.
Oh and I am 34 going on 35...not that age matters for everyone but it definately would matter in my case...in my 20s I was a dumb ass and I would be dead if I had a Busa then.

I had my 03' naked SV650 for 2 years , then upgraded in May to a brand new 05' Hayabusa. Ive now got nearly 4000 miles on my Hayabusa and I can tell you what it is like to make the switch.

The SV650...I miss the bike but I dont, it was a fine bike and given my style of riding it was an excellent Pre-Busa bike.
I ran my SV650 hard , it has plenty of torque ..its not all that different in feel from the Busa's torque at lower speeds.
I learned alot of valuable lessons on my SV and am very happy to be armed with that knowledge on my Busa.

I will try to make this short:

I dropped off my SV650 at the dealership and fininished filling out the paperwork while they got my Busa ready. Bastards took it out for a ride and put 8 miles on it....come to find out its how this bike shop does it, every new bike gets a test drive.

I go out and start it up...god listen to this thing I thought! You could just hear the sick idle which is typical of race oriented engines...I was very excited.