Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently bought SV which I'm really happy with, but I'm having a problem with vibration from engine. Is that a common thing? Or is there something I can do?
Thanks

Sent from my iPad using MO Free

·
Registered
9,123 Posts
Vibration felt through the grips, pegs at any rpm? Some vibration is normal, affects some riders more than others. If the vibration is very severe, then I would say a loose engine mounting bolt/s. At idle, perhaps TBs need synching.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can feel it through the grips. Especially when I travel at slow speeds. I can't feel my right hand fingers after 50miles. Will check the bolts, thanks for the advice. I'm new to this environment so it's really about getting an information all around.

Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

·
Registered
9,123 Posts
You might consider the type of gloves you are wearing, maybe too tight or how you grip the bars, also too tight.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Had the same problem a while back...I have a 1k and with thin summer gloves it would make my throttle hand number in a bout a 30 min on the highway.
Since then I bought the ICON ti Max gloves and also a go cruise (throttle lock cruise control for $20) for the bike. Now its comfy. The thickness in the gloves really helps the vibes and the go cruise let's you relax your hand for a while.
Only other thing you can do is buy more comfy grips or some say put some lead shot bags in the bars to soak up vibes. Good luck.

·
Registered
6,831 Posts
You don't say whether you have the N or S model...but your avatar says N, so we'll go with that. As DeltaPapa said, some shot (or the like) in the bars can and will move the resonant frequency of the bars to a different rpm where you spend less riding time. Can make a big difference!