Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Gotcha!!! You sick bastards!!
Now that I have your attention...

This is something I just posted under another thread, but thought this would reach more people-
For those of you who have gone down with either leather or mesh jackets-
My question is-

For those of you who have been down, did your jacket have armour in the elbows, shoulders or back and if so/not how did it protect you?

here's my post-

I have been riding an Olympia mesh jacket for a few years. It has plastic armour(I think it's plastic-something hard) on the elbows and shoulders and padding on the back- (1 inch or so thick). Do most leather jackets have armour in them?.?.? I really didn't check out leathers, as I didn't have the loot at the time. I'm sure some do, but what do you guys have and how has it protected you (armour and no armour)?

I would think the real issue is weather there is padding or armour in the places that count? I think it would take a long fast slide to penetrate the armour I have on my jacket. I say this having never going down, so I really don't know the answer.

I hear of people going down and burning through mesh and strawberry's with leather, but are they burning through the padding and armour too???
Anyway, I like my jacket. It has a liner which I wear when it gets colder and keeps me somewhat cooler when it's 80+ out. Anything over 85 and high humidity I drive in my air conditioned cage.

Your thoughts and experiences are appreciated.
Brent

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
You bastard...

I've heard stories about armor sliding during the fall and doing damage by itself. I haven't had any problems with a leather jacket, but I haven't been down at a fast speed either.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OK. Doesn't look like the first pic is coming up. Might be my computer- might be the image wasn't kosher with the mods.
here's another hottie.