Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today i laid my bike down for the first time. Ive been riding for 6 years and aside from dropping my bike at a stop sign the first week i had it ive never been down. The funny thing is i was a block away from home and was returning from ordering a new helmet. I was in full gear, which is rare for me especially since i only rode like 2 miles to the shop and back but i guess its true, most accidents happen close to home.

I dont know if im more mad or if i just feel stupid. I couldnt have been going more than 15-20mph and the rode went downhill and i looked up and the cars were stopped, i probably had 50 feet or more, grabbed the front brake, locked the wheel up and slip and went down, the front end ended up underneath the car in front of me. Im ok, a little scrape on my knee, but i just bought new gloves yesterday and scraped them :(

at first glance the bike seems mostly ok, i was able to ride it still. bent a clipon, broke a mirror, bent shift lever, scraped clutch lever and frame slider. i still am not sure how it happened, i wasnt going fast and i feel like i shouldve been able to stop?

Ugh that sucked :(

·
Registered
8,834 Posts
Downhill braking can be tricky. You may have hit a bit of oil or road crap that helped you lose traction on the front. It happens. Just learn from this experience, and take away valuable knowledge from it. Situational awareness = long life. Practice emergency braking in a parking lot so you know your limits, and it helps train your hand muscles to those limits for street use.

·
Registered
2,478 Posts
You did a panic grab, and leaned to the left a little. Also, tires were cold, so reduced grip. Go to a parking lot or something and practice quick stops. Nice even pressure on the brake lever, stay straight up and down, use back brake after front is applied, and down shift.

Glad you are OK and the SV is easily fixed.

·
Premium Member