Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
the ignition cylinder is sometimes difficult to turn with the key. i end up wiggling the key around to get it to turn.

can i get a new cylinder from the dealer for the same key?

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
tonye said:
the ignition cylinder is sometimes difficult to turn with the key. i end up wiggling the key around to get it to turn.

can i get a new cylinder from the dealer for the same key?
have you tried lubing it yet?

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
I have just recently had a similar issue with my '00. WD-40 seemed to help for a little while. I had concerns over shorting the electical system (I am not a mechanic) and only sprayed a very small amount directly on my key before inserting.

RandyO-- What product/lube would you suggest?

·
Premium Member
480 Posts
Six Chin Skinny said:
What I use is graphite- it comes in a tube that you can get it at NE auto parts store. I use it on the locks on my cage too.

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
RN-- Do you apply the graphite lube directly to the key and then insert?

·
Premium Member
480 Posts
Yep- stick the tube into the hole and squeeze. :lol:

Edit: into the keyhole- not the key.

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
ride_naked said:
Yep- stick the tube into the hole and squeeze. :lol:

Edit: into the keyhole- not the key.

Im'a skeered. That won't short out the electrical? I can't see what's going on in there and I'll be nervous squeezing anything into there...

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
RN and TWF-- Thanks! 8) I'll give it a shot when I work up the courage... :oops:

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
Six Chin Skinny said:
I have just recently had a similar issue with my '00. WD-40 seemed to help for a little while. I had concerns over shorting the electical system (I am not a mechanic) and only sprayed a very small amount directly on my key before inserting.