Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellow SVRiders...

I'm new to motorcycling and just recently purchased a 2001 SV650 as my first bike.
This site is awesome and played a big part in my decision!

To the point...
Is it possible to do a throttle adjustment on the SV650?
If I move the throttle just a hair... I'm talking a minute amount, I'm getting 3,000 RPM.
As I said, I'm new to all this, so I thought it might just be normal, but several friends who have ridden the bike have also mentioned the throttle being severely touchy.
The bike is completely stock with 1,400 miles on it.
If anyone could give me any advice on how to adjust the throttle, I'd be most appreciative.

Thanks,

--nej

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
Can't help much. Check to make sure the throttle cables at the grip are adjusted properly. Make sure there's a little "gap" between the open and close cable. If you don't have an owner's manual then download one. It's also a good idea to download a shop manual. You can get them from socalsvriders.org or sv650.org.

SV throttle response is not particularly sharp, but the torque curve is definitely steep. On inline four cylinder motorcycles the torque curve is relatively gentle. You've got to rev them pretty good to get them up on the curve. SVs don't need a lot of RPM to pull hard. The feel is very different from I-4 bikes. With practice your throttle control should smooth out.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Try making the throttle cables loose at the throttle. The bike should idle the same with those loose as with them adjusted.

Does it hesitate to rev or just rev up really easy when you move it a little?

Kinda a strange one :)

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
Many peeps modify to a R6 1/5 turn throttle to make the throttle even more touchy..... are there throttle tubes availble that would go the other way? (that fit of course)

·
Registered
4,051 Posts