Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in Middle TN. I have not been able to ride for a week. I have been on vacation and came back on Sunday. It has been raining every day since I came back. I know we need the rain. BUT I WANT TO GO FOR A RIDE SO BAD. I am still new to motorcycles and haven't rode in the rain yet. Anyone else getting so much rain they can't ride? Not suppose to clear up until Sunday in my area.

·
Registered
3,965 Posts
no rain here....

·
Registered
3,341 Posts
Only one way to learn about riding in the rain. I would recommend taking a short trip around a route you know. Riding in the rain is no different than riding normally except you cant lean the bike like you are racing around corners.

·
Registered
3,965 Posts
...and you gotta be SMOOOOOTH, no herky jerky motions...

paint stripes, manhole covers, tar snakes are a b i o t c h when wet...verrry slickrery...

·
Super Moderator
7,038 Posts
We haven't had rain for weeks now, and temps have been 90 to 100+.

Riding in the rain requires you to be smoother with your inputs and react earlier than usual. Good tires play a huge part in safety and confidence in the rain. Having a good feel for your front brake is important. Most people will use more rear brake in the rain.

Slow down, think ahead, and be smooth.

·
Registered
688 Posts
I love riding in the rain, its just exciting... a lot of people call that "white knuckle" but honestly if you look at it as a learning experience, it is really a great way to practice riding.

I say this because riding in the first place require that you pay lots of attention, it requires that you be smooth (regardless of road conditions you should be smooth). Poor weather riding will help you to learn a lot.