Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Lifer
5,220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright.

A little background.

I started driving at the age of 13 under the watch of a crazed Korean mother who read an article in a Korean newspaper about a 12 year old son who saved his mother's life when she had a heart attack behind the wheel. Luckily, the 12 year old boy had learned to drive from his parents and was able to drive his mother to the hospital safely and she lived.

So though I've been driving legally for 10 years, I've been actively behind the wheel for another 4 years on top of that. So I haven't been driving very long at all but long enough to notice some things...

What happened to driving?

What happened to leaving 2-3 seconds worth of space between your car and the car in front of you?

What happened to minimize brake usage by going speeds that are reasonable for the road? (which may or may not be above the speed limit)

What happened to using your signal to inform other drivers of your intentions instead of tipping drivers off to cut you off?

What happened to courtesy on the road?

What happened to judging the light and figuring out a reasonable speed to go to either make the light or stop safely?

Sorry for the mini rant, I just don't understand what happened to the common sense that used to rule the road. I would have been hit by a car last week if the guy didn't have antilock brakes. Maybe we're under-compensating for all of the technology we have in our cars. ???

·
Registered
4,225 Posts
I just treat every one else on the road as a total moron and has seemed to work for me for 33 years riding/driving.

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
I can't control how other people drive, but I still follow those rules

if you do, you will rarely even have a close call

·
Registered
13,319 Posts
To keep it simple...

NO ENFORCMENT OF BASIC TRAFFIC LAWS BY THOSE WHO SERVE AND PROTECT.