Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
MOTORADOR
10,993 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start with three quick introductory facts:

1. The Yamaha TW200 is widely used at riding schools because it's cheap, bulletproof, easy to ride... and slow.

2. As a riding instructor, I am friends with many riding school owners across California.

3. For a while, my kids have been asking me to teach them how to ride but all the bikes in my garage are just too big and unsafe for them to learn on.

Alright. A few weeks ago, I posted on Facebook asking if any of my school-owner friends was getting rid of a TW as I know they renew their training fleets from time to time and I was interested in buying one for my children. It wasn't long before a friend from the Bay Area told me they were getting rid of not one but two TWs and that I could have them for free if I picked them up! Of course, they were pretty beat-up as you would expect a training bike to be but I am pretty mechanically savvy and I have built and rebuilt many bikes over the last few years, so I thought this could be a fun opportunity for having my kids learn how to work on bikes and then learn how to ride on them.

So, behold the beat-ups t-dubs!

The bikes are both 2008 with a little less than 16k miles on the odo. Both were decommissioned about three years ago and were rotting in the back of a storage container. Stale fuel had completely flooded one of the engines and they were both pretty run down and with a few missing parts each.

As soon as I picked them up, I started ordering parts and disassembling everything with the kids. Of course, a good pressure-wash was one of the first things we did.

·
MOTORADOR
10,993 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Then, we drained the engines and dismounted, disassembled and rebuilt them with new rings, seals and gaskets. We also rebuilt the leaking carburetors and the petcocks.