Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About two weeks ago I was riding my 2001 sv650n down the highway and when I made a turn and began accelerating the chain snapped at the connecting link. I had a trailer pick me and my bike up and the next day I went off to buy new sprockets and a chain. Installation of this kit went very smooth and as I was at work my dad took it for a test ride around the block. Thing ran fine. I get home from work and suddenly the bike won't start. With persistence we got the bike to run (with some loud backfires and inconsistent idle rpm have you.) Completely unsure of what has happened I began testing things to see if they still worked. When the bike is in gear and the clutch is pulled in the bike won't move. I am a complete novice to most things mechanical but would like to know what is going on with my baby. Any insight would be appreciated... :ears:

·
Registered
35 Posts
It will be slightly more difficult to move when in gear (engine not running) and clutch pulled than when not. Look to see if the clutch mechanism (directly in front of front sprocket) was damaged by the flying chain that came off the bike. Although this shouldn't affect the bikes ability to start up when in neutral, it may not be disengaging enough to roll freely when in gear. You may have two smaller problems causing trouble at the same time.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The clutch mechanism appears to be fine.

This is before the sprocket / chain swap the new chain and sprocket don't look THAT horrid.
Could the failure to start just be an unrelated issue with my electrical system? The engine will turn over just wont crank and start running. The tach shows 500 rpm when attempting to start.

·
Registered
9,123 Posts