Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SVriders please help, I'm a beginner rider looking to buy the SV650.

At the local dealership the salesman instead was trying to sell me the new GSX 650f. He said it was an inline4 much smoother, lower seat height (I'm a bit short 31" inseam) & upright seating position.

What do you think of the new GSX 650f vs. SV650 for a new rider?
Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
448 Posts
The SF is heavier, and doesn't have the chassis for racing. It's more upright and comfortable for distance riding, unless u compare it to a naked SV in which case the SF's fairing would make it more comfortable. Both are cheap (to buy and insure), with budget components, brakes, and suspension. The SF would have a little more top end power vs the low end pull of the SV. The SV has a bit of a twitch when u open and close throttle at low speed and the twin does vibrate a little, but I haven't ridden the SF to compare smoothness. I think the SV looks way better, and feel like I would out grow the capability of the SF's chassis. The SV has tons of parts and capability to be ridden very fast or just change the look. That's why I have an SV. Oh the SV's seat sucks, and i don't know bout the SF

·
Registered
4,657 Posts
The only good thing about the gsx 560f is that the chicas can't tell it from a gsxr. Nobody here at least would suggest you purchase it instead of the SV. The seat height will not be an issue and if it is, you can get a lower seat. I'm 5'8" (ok, 5'7.5") with nubs for legs and have no issue. That first day you might feel awkward but that's it.

There are a few circumstances where the gsx's increased pork might be an advantage- like long highway drones but that's it.