Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started riding this year and so far I've had about 1450 miles on my 2001 GS500. It's a terrific first bike and I could see owning it for a long time. Still, I've been daydreaming about the next bike (i.e., a second bike) and SV is the natural choice. But then I'm wondering, a lot of people say that you can go directly to an SV with zero experience, so since i've started on a GS500 how about skipping the SV and go to something like a FZ1 or ZRX1200R next? If I want to own two bikes at the same time and one of the is a GS, doesn't it make sense to have a bigger performance gap between the two bikes? You don't normally see comparisons between the SV and FZ1/ZRX, I guess because they're not considered to be in the same class. But they're all standards so they're all interesting. Anybody have experience between the SV and either FZ1 or ZRX? How do they compare? And in general, do SV riders consider FZ1 and ZRX to be a "step up"? Other than the cost, and assuming you have the skills to handle the bigger bikes, why would you not choose FZ1/ZRX over the SV? Oh, my weekend fun rides are in the San Francisco Bay Area mountains. I understand the SV is terrific in the twisties. I'm just wondering if FZ1/ZRX are even better.

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
1450 miles is most definitely NOT enough to warrant an upgrade. If you were to upgrade soon, going up to a liter+ bike would be a very bad idea. While some have started just fine on the SV (myself being one of them), it isn't the most ideal of bikes. What you have is DEFINITELY what I would consider ideal for your first 10,000 miles or so.. You should get to at least 5,000 before you consider moving up to something with more power. It comes down to the fact that you just have NOT ridden a bike long enough to have gained the experience to safely be able to handle the bigger bikes you are looking at.