Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts
J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just taken the MSF class, and was going to buy a Honda Hawk, until the seller told me he did not want to sell it to a beginner. So, I know the SV is a lot more power then the Hawk, but is the bike something that a beginner can handle?
Thanks

·
Registered
737 Posts
It's possible to handle the SV. But definitely not the safest way. I'd go the route of a Ninja 250/500 or GS500. Develop your skills on there and then go for the SV.

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I started off with a Buell Blast. It was a great "beginner" bike. It was a nice cross between sport and ease of use. Ive been riding it for about two years and Im finally looking for a new bike. I think Im going with an SV now, but only after I developed my skills on the Buell. The GS500 is also a good beginner bike but I didnt like it as much as my Buell. Plus the Buell is practically bullet proof. Hope this helps!

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
i started with an sv650 as my first bike, imo its a great first bike, lots of power, enuff for beginners but also enuff for experienced riders to throw around

·
Registered
6,316 Posts
Please,work your way up. All of the riders, that have been riding for many years did. :D Yes it's possible,but not the best idea to start on a SV. Just a old riders advice :lol:

·
Registered
786 Posts
My first bike is my current SV650s and IMHO, the sv might be a bit much as a first bike. But it might also depend on the rider too. I would work you way up. I would also strongly suggest a street legal dirt bike. Learn how to ride one of those well and you'll be ready when it's time to upgrade.

·
Registered
110 Posts
There's no yes or no answer to this question.