Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys I have a question. I'm new to the street bike community and had a SV offered to me at a great price. After buying it I realized it needs a new drive chain. Anyone know where to get a chain pretty cheap? Or know the specs because we have a small shop in my town and i could possibly order one there. Any help you guys can give me would be great! Thanks Andrew!

·
Registered
101 Posts
If it is still stock sized chain and sprockets, should be a 525 108 link chain, prices vary by brand and length and width. Stock sprockets are 15 tooth front and 45 tooth rear. Hope this helps.

-Tyler

·
Registered
1,617 Posts
If your chain is worn, that means your sprockets are probably worn as well. If that's the case, you're gonna need to replace the sprockets and chain together. Otherwise, putting a fresh chain on worn sprockets will quickly wear out your new chain.

·
Registered
132 Posts

·
Registered
832 Posts
I just ordered new sprockets and a 520 chain from SvRacingParts.com. You can go with the stock sprocket setup 15/45, or select the gearing of your choice. The only reason I ordered is you got both the chain and sprockets, and I ordered a 17/44 setup, which most companies didn't have in stock. I feel it was a good deal, was $177 shipped.

http://www.svracingparts.com/products/#ecwid:category=453978&mode=product&product=1650720
Same "kit" pieced together on eBay:
17T sprocket $21.85 shipped
44T aluminum sprocket: $55.21 shipped
EK 110 link 520 o-ring chain: $78.94 shipped
$156 to your door.

Nothing against Blair since he ships fast and has good advice. Just showing the cheaper route.

·
Premium Member
2,108 Posts