Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to replace the fork seals on my '03 SV1000 and was wondering whether it would be advantageous to use a non-stock oil weight when I refill the forks. I only weigh about 150 pounds.

Thanks!

·
Registered
437 Posts
I weigh #150 as well, and wouldn't go heavier than 5wt. The higher the VI the better. Check out Red Line suspension fluids. They're a bit pricey but worth it.

I would also strongly recommend a set of .85 springs.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So the 0.85 springs would ostensibly give a softer-than-stock front-end? But the 5W oil would firm it up... Would the net result be a similar front end feel, just with more linear compression/rebound? Or am I thinking completely backwards? Sorry, I'm new to suspension setup. Thanks for the advice.

·
Registered
437 Posts
Well, that's not quite how it works. Springs are specified for your weight, and valving has to work with the springs. Stock valving is a little on the light side to enable them to work with the progressive springs (remember? too light on top, too stiff on the bottom).

OK, now the next part is tough to explain. Not all oil of the same claimed weight is the same. That is to say that one manufacturers 5wt isn't the same as anothers. For example, PJ1 Fork Tuner 5wt is heavier than Bel Ray Fork Oil 7wt. The numbers to pay attention to are the cSt and VI. For the SV forks, cSt between 17 and 19 work about the best. And the higher the VI the better (the higher the VI the more heat resistant it is). Within the 17-19 cSt range the two highest VI are Bel Ray HVI 5wt (VI=345) and Red Line Light{yellow} (VI=407).

Too heavy an oil negates the comression/rebound adjustments.Too light an oil turns them into on/off valves.