Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title reads, I find that when I'm going in to turns and there are bumps on the road, the bike feels a little unstable (handlbars wobble a bit). This is my first bike and have only 550kms on it, so is it something I should worry about? (i.e invest in a steering damper) or is it something that is normal and I'm just worrying about needlessly because I'm a rookie? :-\

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
my suggestion would be to loosen your grip on the bars. a tight grip will transfer the headshake produced from bumps to the rest of the bike. relax yourself and the bike will be smooth, especially as you gain experience.

·
site supporter
6,051 Posts
Sleem said:
As the title reads, I find that when I'm going in to turns and there are bumps on the road, the bike feels a little unstable (handlbars wobble a bit). This is my first bike and have only 550kms on it, so is it something I should worry about? (i.e invest in a steering damper) or is it something that is normal and I'm just worrying about needlessly because I'm a rookie? :-\
It's not a "rookie" question to be dismissed because understanding what your bike should feel like and how best to control it are key to developing safe riding habits. Ridesideways's suggestion is where I would start. The harder you grip the bars, the greater the inputs you make as you grip to hold on or resist the movement of the bars in reaction to road irregularities. The sets up a cycle of inputs that amplify the effect of any road iregularity. You shoud attach yourself to your SV with your legs, not your hands. Every bit of weight on the handlebars contributes to instability. Even in extreme situations, like maximum acceleration, grip the seat and tank with your thighs to "hang on"; don't rely on a death grip on the bars.