Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So guys i know that if you wheelie an SV it starves the cylinders from oil. If so, what damage am i looking at, how severe, and how often does it have to be done/ distance/ time bike is up?

Im buying an sv to race on, picking it up tomorrow, thing that's bothering me is that the old man did some wheelies on it.

I know there was a thread about it somewhere on here but I've been unable to find it.

Share your knowledge!

·
Registered
1,574 Posts
You're just going to get flamed by all the regulars on here.

There are some that say nothing happens, others think that as soon as the front tire leaves the ground, the engine blows up.

If it does starve, the majority of people say it's only the front cylinder.

·
Registered
244 Posts
i do them all the time, granted i never hold them up more than about 15 seconds or so... i'm still learning. in theory it makes sense about the front cylinder starving of oil. if it's a huge concern as to what damage may have been done so far, then tear the head off and look. :p chances are it's fine though. good luck with your new toy though.

·
Banned Member
4,562 Posts
You're going to rupture the space-time continuum if you don't stop that. I've already come to the tip of armageddon by taking my SV off some sweet jumps.

·
Registered
9,563 Posts
Meet MullerJD.

He wheelies and has never had to rebuild.

·
Registered
257 Posts
you guys are missing the point of his post. he plans to race it, the PO wheelied it and he's worried that there might be damage/excessive wear from it.

·
Registered
9,563 Posts
you guys are missing the point of his post. he plans to race it, the PO wheelied it and he's worried that there might be damage/excessive wear from it.

I didnt miss anything. Im saying people wheelie and dont have any problems so he should be fine. But if he is racing he will prolly be taking the motor apart anyway.

·
Registered
594 Posts