Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So recently I picked up a 2013 Suzuki gladius. The guy before me never rode it so when I bought it February of 2020 he had only put 123 miles on it. Once I got home and got a new batter and did basic fluid changes I thought I would be ready to ride. Well once I started riding I noticed around 5k rpm in any gear the engine would stop accelerating and start bogging down. I noticed there was a recall on the bike so I got the tappets changed. When I picked it up I didn’t notice until I got home that an FI light came on. The code was c44 which is the o2 sensor.
Before I dropped it off this code wasn’t showing so I ordered a new one however will that help with the engine bogging? Has anyone encountered the same problems? I’ll update as soon as I put the new o2 sensor in!

·
Registered
7,280 Posts
I don't know about the later SVs and SFVs, but cars with closed loop fuel control will go into a fixed map default when an error is detected.

That said, if you have a fueling issue or an ignition issue, the bike's error detection capability may not be sophisticated enough to determine that the reading it's getting from the O2 sensor is out of range because, for example, the fuel pump is unable to provide enough fuel at high demand, or the injectors are dirty and have a crummy spray pattern, or maybe your ignition system is corroded and not able to produce a strong spark.

That said, I'm curious to know how much fuel was in the tank when you picked it up with 123 miles on it. Was it empty? Was it 1/4 tank? Was it full? Is the tank rusty inside? Old fuel can gel up and cause issues in the fuel pump and the injectors. Rust that was on the tank and now broken free can clog the pump. If it was full, the ethanol could have absorbed enough water to be contaminated now. Have you tried fresh fuel?

·
Super Moderator
6,911 Posts