Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

My SV650 N (I think back wheel) wobbles when I take corners at around 80+ mph with a mild lean angle. I wonder what could cause this problem and how I can solve it.

I'm just a beginner rider so maybe I'm doing something wrong? I don't feel tense when it happens and I keep the bars loose. Mostly I'm upright on the bike, leaning with it.

My tire pressure is 2.5 front and 2.9 back. They are about 2000 miles old and look good.

I've read that it could be the rear shock which is too soft. I noticed that in the manual, the SV650 S is 2 steps harder then the SV650 N which I have. Could this have something to do with it?

I don't want to mess up my bike settings when it could be my riding technique. Have any of you had the same problem? And what can I do to find the problem or solve it?

·
Registered
3,965 Posts
on/off the gas???

the wobble is probably a combination of BOTH front and rear suspension, as it sucketh from the Factory...

try 30POUNDS front/rear...

liberal throttle applications [continuious]...

or/and

swap the frontend/wheel/brakes for a Gxxr and put a Ohlin's/Penske/Elka shock on it and be done...lol

·
Registered
2,455 Posts
If you are a new rider I'm sure you are pry hard on the bars. The suspension sucks, so that doesn't either.

What tires are they? Crap tires tend to feel like... well like crap. And those pressures seem a bit high. I think the factory recommends 38 PSI in the rear (2.5 I think?). Front should be 32 PSI (2.2?). I don't have a calculator and don't feel like messing around with google converion at this time at night.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
I do roll on slowly in corners. No throttle on/off since I can't hold my line that way.
It seems to go away when I change my speed either way, but I'm not sure what it'll do when I keep the same speed (don't dear to try?).