Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Got into an accident going about 55-60 yesterday. I was very fortunate to walk away with only some road rash and a busted ankle. Bike took some hits and will need several new parts.

What happened:

Was cruising along the interstate maintaining about a 1.5-2 second following distance from the car in front of me. It was a warm, dry, and sunny day. The third car up from me slammed on his brakes for seemingly no reason. We weren't near an exit or anything. I have no explanation for why he would do that unless the person behind him was tailgating him and he wanted to brake check her. Then the two cars behind him slammed on their brakes as well.

Now I've been riding on and off for about 20 years. I know what happens when your front tire locks up, but in this situation it was all instinct. As soon as the car in front of me hit her brakes and I saw I was coming up on her fast I just squeezed my front brake hard and my front tire locked. The bike slid out from under me and I hit the ground and just began to tumble. I came to a stop and the bike kept sliding forward and hit the car in front of me damaging the gas tank.

Here's some pics:

As soon as I got up I ran off the side of the road and jumped over the guardrail as I didn't want to get hit by an oncoming car. I wasn't even consciously thinking to do that I just did it. Luckily the person behind came to a stop before getting too close.