Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. Recently bought a 2000 SV650 as my first bike. Before purchase, my friend test drove and everything went fine (needs some basic maintenance including an oil change, front brakes bled, etc. but starts and rides fine). He then drove it about 10 miles to a parking lot without any problems. I took over and proceeded to stall a few times like a complete noob. The first couple of times, turns back on as normal. Then, all the sudden, for no apparent reason, doesn't turn on. I hear a 'clicking' sound coming from the battery.

Assumed it was a dead battery; tried charging it from the car: nothing. We were easily able to push start the bike so I assumed it was the battery. Got a new one, charged it to 12.8V (checked with a multimeter), still doesn't turn on. When I turn the key, all the lights and everything turn on. But when I push the ignition switch, just clicking coming from the battery. Jump starts without a problem, but can't start it normally at all.

Any advice? I guessed rectifier/regulator and my friend kind of guesses it's the starter. Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
PS: The clicking sound is the relay.

Barrypz, If I hook up a multi-meter and it reads an acceptable 12.8 volts, doesn't that mean the battery is fine? I'm a complete tech noob as well so it might be something basic I'm missing.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
My last battery still had good voltage when it began to fail at starting the bike. Before ditching the battery though, make sure all the connections are clean and tight. Starting is a big amp draw.

·
Registered
317 Posts
PS: The clicking sound is the relay.

Barrypz, If I hook up a multi-meter and it reads an acceptable 12.8 volts, doesn't that mean the battery is fine? I'm a complete tech noob as well so it might be something basic I'm missing.