Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've just recently decided that its time to start riding. I've been contemplating it for over a year and finally got the "partial yes" from the wife. My MSF course date is next month so I'm just browsing on which bike to get. Here's a little info about me. I'm 28, 5'5", and 140lbs light. Yes i know, I'm a small guy. I've had my fair trouble with cars, went through the "I'm a fast badass driver" stage, then eventually settled down. Got married and now have a 17mo/daughter. Last car I owned was an 06' Mitsu Evolution and i thoroughly enjoyed carving turns with it.

The 08'-09' ninja250's originally caught my attention, however I realize that I probably will need more power to cruise on the highway and having that extra bit of power to getaway from difficult situations is a bonus. With that in mind, I am now considering an sv650. My intentions on getting a bike is to enjoy the freedoms of riding and not necessarily for speed or looks.

Are there any short riders here who have any problems with foot placement? I know for sure that I won't be able to flat foot this bike and I just wanted your opinions. Thanks

Wil

·
Registered
181 Posts
Dingleberries,
You could use lowering links. You could also remove foam from the seat also.

When ready take the wife outside & show her your new SV. :hug:

·
Registered
3,276 Posts
I would'nt say the SV is a bad start to riding, but it is'nt the best like a ninja250. It depends on how aware you are of the controls and exactly how fast this bike or any bike can mangle you up if your not paying attention.