Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college student at CSU Chico and after class I met a guy with a 2000 r6. Struck up a conversation and we went riding. Let me tell ya, I was not impressed.

The bike had after market intake, exhaust and jet kit so I am assuming it wasn't a slouch for an r6, but what they say about no power before 10,000 rpm is true!!! I can't believe that a bike could be low on power by 9K but it was. Don't get me wrong 10 to 15rpm the thing was a sling shot but give me a break. I was very disappointed.

The trouble now is that I realize if I want a torquey jet, I need a liter bike. My 2003 svs, a 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200r, and the r6 are the sum of my street bike experience. My SVS felt tame after the ZRX but with twice the motor it should, but I nearly dumped his r6 accelerating out of a 90 deg stop sign because it had so little power.

So this may be just another anti i4 thread but I felt my story should be told. The SV is a real diamond in the rough and I am going to have a hard time parting with it someday.

·
Registered
2,066 Posts
You almost dumped it in a corner because of the power, or not having the bike in the proper gear giving it the power it needed to pull through the corner?

·
Registered
29 Posts
you have to be turning some rpm's for these bikes to perform. it takes a little practice, but they can be fun when running hard.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I almost dumped it from a dead stop at a 90 deg turn because power pulls you out on upright, but I turned the gas and it didn't have "oomph" to get me going. With the SV you got the power all the time.

·
Registered
836 Posts
You must have ridden a dud.

An I-4 builds power quickly, smoothly, and explosively.

I find my ninja is at least as fast as the 650 in almost all ranges of the powerband.

·
Registered
67 Posts
the 636 is not exactly a "600"

it's more on par w/ a 750