Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for cheap but good sliders and bar ends.
Suggestions?

Seems like there's a bunch and a wide range of prices, and I'm on a budget, but don't want to waste $ on cheap stuff that don't work. A little education here might help as well. bar ends don't just protect, but also dampen vibration? (previous owner "tossed" bar ends on bike I bought)

I know Motosliders is a sponsor and read a thread where several suggested theirs. Thoughts on Shogun, Vortex, Street Bikes Unlimited, etc?

It's a 2006 SV650S - blue - and I'm a noob.
I tried searching for this topic and didn't come up with an answer, so if this is covered somewhere else, a link would be great!

Thanks,
Melanie

·
Registered
110 Posts
I took a gamble on this pair from eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Suzuki-SV-6...Parts_Accessories&hash=item3f1811a3f1&vxp=mtr

Unfortunately the screws did not match the bar end nuts/retainers I had. So I had to get creative. Still doesn't fit great. Can't really blame the seller, though. The PO had replaced the weights with bar end mirrors, so I'm not certain I've got the stock nuts/retainers. In any case, whatever you choose I'd recommend a kit that includes the nuts/retainers.

And no, they don't seem to dampen vibration.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I just installed a pair of shogun frame sliders I got on ebay. They fit great and came with a couple of cool stickers. My bike has bar ends but I can't really tell that they do any kind of dampening but they would keep the frame from hitting if it was to fall over.

My old bike (an old ninja 500) had weighted bar ends that were supposed to decrease vibrations but they didn't make a difference that I could see.

Exactly what I bought

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Motosliders are $69.95 and they are the single bolt.