Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Looked down as I was going through some twisty roads today because and couldn't get my foot on the shifter and saw this! I'm new to motorcycles, is this just a random occurrence of fate or do these sort of things need to be gone through and lock-tite'd?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Bob. Any other known bolts or other important fasteners that tend to try and jump off these bikes on a frequent basis?

·
Registered
270 Posts
Very common. Happened on my '06 SV as well. You're lucky you still have all of the parts. I spent the better part of my lunch hour walking along the side of the road looking for shifter pieces. Others can chime in on what needs to be locked down but that was the only thing that's fallen off of my bike in the 2 years I've owned it. Unless you count the rider ha hah!

·
Premium Member
1,471 Posts
Just make sure the threads on the stud going into the rearset are clean before using the Blue Loctite.
I had my shifter stud come loose while riding during a rainstorm a few months ago. Fortunately, the circlip held the stud onto the shift pedal and I noticed it dangling before anything else happened. The worst part of the repair was getting the circlip off w/o damage so I could reuse it. Went by several dealers afterwards trying to find a spare circlip, but nobody had it in stock.

·
Premium Member
639 Posts
Lost my shift rod on the back straight at Beaver a couple of years ago, and I tend to be paricular about going over everything on the race bike.

There is a known design flaw in the second gen that is a particular problem if you put after-market rear sets on. The screw holding the rear brake reservoir hose to the MC will back out, even if loctited. If you take a close look you will understand why.

·
Registered
1,535 Posts