Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's an article stating Rotella T6 is not good for our bikes.

"When we have a motor failure with one of the bikes in our service department or customer bikes on our regular Baja rides, 90 percent of the time they are using Rotella.”

·
Registered
2000 SV650 N
437 Posts
Good article. But correlation does not necessarily lead to causation. It may be that simply 90% of bikes use T6. Also, the two men interviewed in the article each represent motorcycle oil manufacturers, so they are anything but neutral.

Nevertheless, the article got me thinking. I just changed my oil last week using T6. Should I have instead used a motorcycle-specific oil? Has anyone on the forums experimented with different oils over an extended timeframe with reportable results?

·
Super Moderator
7,056 Posts
I've been running T6 in many different cycles for many years, and never heard of it causing engine damage. I do all my own maintenance, and if there was engine damage - I'd know it.

Many people swear that running standard automotive oil is fine (it isn't).

T6 has proper levels of additives (ZDDP) that regular auto oils don't, and those levels are right inline with motorcycle specific oils.

T6 didn't shift that well in the SV, so I use Mobil 1 4T instead, but it has been fine for almost everything else over the years.

I would not run 15W-40 T6 in any moderately cold temps. 5W-40 T6 is a better choice for that.

·
Registered
2000 SV650 N
437 Posts
T6 didn't shift that well in the SV, so I use Mobil 1 4T instead, but it has been fine for almost everything else over the years.
Thanks for the insight Jay. I was hoping my notchy shifting would be addressed by using T6 (although part of it is probably due to the rider). I will perhaps try the 4T instead.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·