Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As promised on another thread, here is a short review of the Schwantz school at Barber Park (if this is in the wrong forum, feel free to move):

My background: I haven't done any trackdays (yet), but I've taken Freddie's school at Miller twice, so I'm not a complete newbie. I was somewhere in the middle speed-wise at Schwantz's school. There were a couple of amateur racers (complete with race bikes, tire warmers, rain tires, etc.), but most of the crowd seemed similar to me--experienced street riders who were looking for better track skills.

Overall, I enjoyed the experience, and I thought it was worth the money. With that in mind, I'll be frank and give you a critical opinion on my experience:

- I like the style of track instruction. We were given a few goals for each session, split up into small groups by pace, and then did laps following (or being followed-by) an instructor. They were very flexible and tried to work around the rain to maximize the number of laps. Even though it wasn't a free track session, I never felt bored with the pace.

- I didn't get as much feedback as I expected the first day, especially considering the high instructor to student ratio (7/12?) However, the second day was much better. To be fair, I'm a quiet guy, so maybe I should have solicited more attention?

- Kevin Schwantz is an integral part of the school, rather than just a figurehead. He was involved in every aspect, from schlepping leathers to turning perfect laps for the camera. Not to mention that he is friendly, approachable, funny, and a genuinely cool guy.