Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
4,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for a few years but until now it has always just been me but my kid was with a friend and his Mom for the day so I asked my wife if she wanted to go for a ride. I gave her my spare RF1000, she put on some jeans and a jean jacket (I know, not proper gear but I wasn't about to go out and drop hundreds of dollars on gear for her for 1 ride if she didn't like it).

Anyway, it was a lot different riding with her on the back of my bike. My wife is 5'4" and 120lbs so it's not like she's overweight at all but adding 100lbs to a motorcycle is huge! Stopping took longer and she would slide into me so my wrists took more abuse. I told her to grip me with her legs so she wouldn't slide into me so much and to hold on tightly when we were taking off along with the usual don't counter lean, lean with the bike etc.

Overall, she was a pretty good passenger and she had a blast and wants to ride with me again. I'm going to start looking for some gear for her. Should be able to find some decent deals on craigslist I bet. Next time we ride I'm going to dial some more pre-load into the rear shock too and maybe bump up the tire pressures a bit too.

·
Registered
4,225 Posts
Its a disease. From the first time my missus rode as passenger it was then all out to get her license and her own bike, she loved it that much.

·
Registered
3,341 Posts
Its a disease. From the first time my missus rode as passenger it was then all out to get her license and her own bike, she loved it that much.
That is exactly how it was with my wife. I prefer it that way though. I like taking people who want rides out but I prefer riding solo.

·
Registered
4,480 Posts
That's great that you guys had a great time out together! Probably won't be long before you hear "Honey........ I want an SV!" ;)

·
Registered
688 Posts