Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
835 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Decided I need to look into a newer helmet finally and upgrade my ventilation from the good ol shoei tz-1.

Noise is not really a concern as I normally wear wax plugs. My biggest concerns are quality, longevity, weight,and ventilation. I have had my eyes on the tz-r but tried a friends rf1k and liked it. So I also been eying the arai.

The padding seems more pronounced in the arai but the shoei fabric feels more durable. This was just from my pawing them both repeatedly nothing long term as far as real life wear.

·
Registered
153 Posts
I have no experience with the Arai, but ive had my RF-1000 for about 6months now. I can honestly say I am very pleased with the helmet thus far, shoei is a good helmet... you really can't go wrong. Just get the one that fits the best.. lol but im sure you've heard that already.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I have had the Duhamel Replica RF1000 for the past 3.5 years and love it. Actually this is my second one. The first I was in an accident with a I can tell you it works! Well Shoei bought the wrecked helmet from me in order to study how it held up in the impact and I bought a second one 10 minutes later.

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
I love my RF-1000, but like other will say, get the one that feels best on your head. You don't want to hate wearing the helmet 30 minutes into the ride. You'll just end up distracted and will eventually end up testing just how well that helmet holds up in a get off.

·
Registered
5,007 Posts
I have a TZR and a RF1000. The fit is very similar. The ventilation is very different. TZR is warm, good for riding in the cold. The RF1000 has alot of ventilation. Not good for riding in the cold, good for riding in the hot.

When I was trying on helmets, the Arai RX7 didn't fit my head very well. But the Arai Quantum II fit very well.

·
Registered
8,290 Posts