Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there guys, how yall doing ?

Today I went for my routine chain cleaning and notice some thread? behind the the sprocket. (gen3)
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Rim Bicycle part Automotive wheel system

Tire Wheel Bicycle tire Automotive tire Motor vehicle

It's a pretty small place for my hand so my plan is to remove the sprocket to properly get rid of the thread.

Thing is, it's my first time doing this, and probably the bike's as well since it has about 5k miles on it, I'm pretty sure this is the original sprocket.

I tried applying some pressure on the nut, but if feels tight (enough to move the bike) on both sides, I just want to check out the right side I should apply pressure to loose.
Tried to look in the service manual, but the one I have available tells to go over a Suzuki dealer.

Thanks in advance!

Btw if someone has the full service manual for the 3rd gen, hit me up!

·
Registered
488 Posts
I believe your turn that bolt counter clockwise. It will be tight, orientate the wrench to where when you apply force its downward so as not to move the bike much.

·
Registered
500 Posts
According to the shop manual, the engine sprocket nut is a conventional counterclockwise turn to unscrew, tightened to 145 Nm torque.
Procedure to remove the sprocket is:
1. Remove the engine sprocket cover.
2. Flatten the lock washer.
3. Remove the engine sprocket nut while depressing the rear brake pedal.
4. Remove the lock washer.
5. Loosen the rear axle nut.
6. Support the motorcycle with a jack.
7. Loosen the left and right chain adjuster bolts to provide additional chain slack.
8. Remove the washer and engine sprocket.

·
Premium Member
292 Posts
I don't fool with breaker bars and such on those. Hold the rear brake and bang it off of there with a big impact. And on with the day..:)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·