Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2005 SV650s with just over 800 miles, when I use the rear brakes I can hear a squeak which sounds like the brakes are worn down and some metal is scraping the rotor. I dont believe that the brake pads would have worn down in a few miles. Anyone else experience anything similar, what can I do to diagnose this problem other than taking the brake pad out (which I have no experience doing).
Tanks

·
Registered
564 Posts
My 05 "did" it on front and rear REAL LOUD. Take your break apart and bevel the edges of the pad with a file and I cleaned the back part of the metal and cleaned other parts with sand paper. Both front and rear squeaked on mine. I did it to the front and it stopped the squeak 99 percent. I probably could of done it slightly harder and it would have made it go away 100 percent. I just have to do back break now. I had 5k miles on it and just couldnt wait for winter to take it to a dealer.

Best bet is prolly to take it to the dealer as 05s are still under warranty.

P.S. The pins come out super easy. Be smart about how you take the pin out, as I broke mine on one side. <----noob :)

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
You can see the wear indicator (groove cut into the pads) without removing the pads.

If you do remove the pads have some disk brake anti-squeal past ready. Put a light coating on the backs of the pads wherever they contact the calipers. You can buy the paste at any auto parts store, about a buck.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Mine does it too. I usually get on the back brake kinda hard a few times and it goes away. Not skidding hard, but just a good, firm pressure.

·
Registered
629 Posts