Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a little help, every time I go out for a ride my bike rear brake locks up after 10 minutes of riding. I already bled the brakes but I’m not sure if I did it right it began to squeak after I bled them. When the temperature gets to about 220 is when I begin to notice the Brakes locking up.

Somebody please help I’m new to all of this.

·
Registered
783 Posts
Your engine temperature goes up to 220°F? That is very high. Normal operating temperature is around 180°F unless you're in a hot climate.

In any case, your brake systems are independent of your engine. If your rear brake locks up inspect your rear brake only. Your problem points to a stuck brake piston likely due to corrosion.
I would recommend a new piston and seal set for the rear caliper, around $40 I believe. You can do this yourself if mechanically inclined and you have a tool or compressed air to get the stuck piston out. You may want to have a shop do it since it's a fairly quick procedure for a mechanic.

·
Registered
621 Posts
Most likely corrosion in the caliper groove where the seals sit. This forces the seals onto the piston which means it doesn't retract as it should after the brake pedal is released.

The rear caliper is a fairly easy rebuild if you fancy doing it, but you need to make sure you get all the white powdery corrosion and gunk out of the groove the seal sits in, or the brake will just stick on again. A soft brass brush in a Dremel works well if you go gently. Then fit fresh seals.

The piston is stainless steel in the rear caliper so can be cleaned up with brake cleaner and one of those green pan scouring pads. Clean up the caliper sliding pins and re-lubricate with silicone brake grease.

Just be methodical and keep everything clean (have lots of paper towels handy for wiping), and you'll get there. If you're not confident, have a shop do it.

·
Registered
2000 SV650 N
817 Posts