Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Inspired by the result of a thread that had nothing to do with pucks, another member and I shared the pucks we use for our bikes that were not intended for use as bike pucks. This other person uses a furniture slider and I have a synthetic brick. So here is my puck and it is especially useful because I can flip it around to offset the declined/inclined slope on which I may need to park my bike. But what re-purposed item do you use for a puck, or some other bike item? (I sure hope there are no helmets that aren't meant to be helmets!)

For scale I used what was handy :eek:ccasion14: The synthetic brick is made from recycled tires and was sent to me because I am a radio news producer. We have a home improvement show on our station and the company that makes these was hoping to be featured on the show. Sadly the show is syndicated (well, not for them) and the brick was sent to me, rather than the show producers. It sat around the station for about 2 years being used as my coffee coaster before I bought my first bike, my SV650S, and I realized it was a perfect puck due to our inclined parking lot. My co-workers recognized the fake brick under the kick stand of the unknown bike and stopped by the newsroom to laugh about my re-purposing of the fake brick and congratulate me on a bike.

Pics!

http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u102/AnthonyLand/IMG_20120629_204532.jpg

·
Registered
3,743 Posts
Do you mean a kickstand puck?

If that's what you're talking about a crushed soda can always worked for me. They're almost infinitely available so I never bother to carry one around.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Man, carrying around a brick everywhere you go seems like a little much. Then again I dont ride in swamps.

·
Registered
818 Posts
Pop cans work.

I've used flat rocks as well. And pieces of bark. Offroad, but not in swamps. :)