Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get a motorcycle this winter/spring, provided my grades are good this semester. I'll soon be taking the MSF course, so I've started looking into gear to purchase for after the course. Keep in mind I'm a college student, so I'm on somewhat of a budget here. I plan on getting full gear, meaning helmet, gloves, jacket, pants, boots. I'm a firm believer in ATGATT, and dress for the crash, not for the ride. Might I add I don't ride yet and seeing squids really pisses me off. I am only considering leather for the jacket and pants, I don't trust textiles to hold up if anything were to happen. Here's the gear I've been looking at so far:

Joe Rocket Radar Dark Leather Jacket
Joe Rocket 2.0 Blaster Leather Pants
Bell RS-1 Helmet

Or possibly some Alpinestars gear, just depends on, I hate to say it, money. My question(s) for you guys are

1. Is the Joe Rocket gear I'm considering good gear?
2. Is the Bell RS-1 helmet a good helmet?

The Radar Dark has some polymesh on it in some places, which bothers/troubles me about it's ability to hold up in a crash. Whatever gear I end up going with I'd like for all of it to match, so if I get Joe Rocket, everything with the exception of the helmet and possibly the gloves and boots would be from the same company. I just want to get some input about the Radar Dark jacket and the 2.0 Blaster pants from people who own them, or just a review of Joe Rocket gear in general. I kind of have my mind made up on the jacket and pants, as well as the helmet, but advice from others would be appreciated.

·
Registered
645 Posts
I'm not sure what grades have to do with money....and while the SV is a great budget bike....gear is the same cost for all bikes. I tend to shy away from Joe Rocket and Icon personally, but some like them. I have a Bell helmet which I like.