Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello --

I'm new to the sport of motorcycling in general and I'm located in the Minneapolis MN area. I've just purchased my first bike, new 2004 SV650S.

Question on break-in maintenance -- for the maintenance interval around 600-700 miles -- should the valves clearance be adjusted for the break-in maintenance period -- or is simple oil change and giving a "once over" of the entire bike sufficient?

I'm aware that valves will certainly need maintenance when I put more miles on the bike -- around 10,000 and then around 25,000. Or something like that. But I'm presently trying to justify the "break-in maintenance" charges that the dealership is trying to throw at me, and wondering if valves need adjustment this early or not.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated -- either here on the board or email me at [email protected].

Thanks alot!

·
Registered
43 Posts
nationaljoe said:
Question on break-in maintenance -- for the maintenance interval around 600-700 miles -- should the valves clearance be adjusted for the break-in maintenance period -- or is simple oil change and giving a "once over" of the entire bike sufficient?
Joe:
For the 600 mile service all that needs to be done is an oil change (and change the filter too!) and giving the bike a "once-over" , check the nuts and bolts and thats about it. If I remember correctly, the valuves need to be inspected (according to the manual) at 15,000 miles.
I would suggest saving the money and doing the service yourself. If it makes you feel better you can splurge and buy the Suzuki OEM oil filter. Make sure you keep all the receipts, just in case you run into warranty issues. Other than that, you should be set.

R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
nationaljoe said: