Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to riding so forgive me if this question has been beaten to death, but I couldn't find the answers on my own, despite my best efforts.

I bought an '01 sv 650 and I love it. I'm either on it or thinking about being on it. Getting better at riding, but acceleration is rather herky-jerky. Specifically, I'll accelerate in 1st gear to about 6-7K rpms, then I' ease off the throttle and the bike slows pretty dramatically. It evens out once I pull in the clutch lever. I then shift gears and release the clutch lever, whereupon it slows dramatically, once again until I get beack on the throttle, then it sort of jerks forward again. SO the end result of this sequence of events is some really rough shifting between 1st and 2nd, 2nd and 3rd, and 3rd and 4th. Herky-jerky riding. Is this normal when you move through this sequence slowly? Will it improve as I get faster at it?

The only thing I've found that helps is: after changing gears I give it some throttle before I release the clutch lever to engage the engine so that the engine speed matches the road speed. And that can be hard to do because sometimes I overshoot and the bike takes off in the next gear up, and sometimes I undershoot, whichl slows the bike down in the next gear up because I didn't give it enough throttle.

My concern is that it is not good for the bike to engage the clutch (release the clutch lever) while on the throttle. Is this true?

It doesn't seem to be at all like a car, in which you 1.) let off the throttle, 2.) push in the clutch pedal, 3.) shift gears, 4.) release the clutch pedal 5.) then hit the throttle again in the new gear. Because when I do that in my car, I don't get such a jerky ride.

I hope I made sense. and thanks in advance for your replies and help.

·
Registered
1,461 Posts