Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!

I'm a noob with a moderately solid riding foundation looking for practical advice about possibly buying an SV in the next 6 months or so.

Where is the best forum section to start a brainstorm?

Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

·
Registered
888 Posts
Right here should be fine.

If it's not, one of the mods will pipe in and move it.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, so let's start off with the basics.

I'm a big guy: 260lbs @ 5' 11" and built.

That being said, I am actively working out and losing weight...so I hope to be around 240 or less by the time I can afford a bike With my build, I will not likely dip less that 220.

I want to make sure I get a bike that is comfortable to ride. I don't want to look silly either.

I started with a ninja 250, and have experience riding my fathers softail.

When I had the 250 I was about 305 lbs, and I planned to move up but at the time I couldn't afford it. Even when I was that size, it was surprisingly fun to put around on...

I dislike the cumbersome nature of my fathers softail. its much more work than its worth to deal with such a heavy bike.

I sold my car because I couldn't afford to maintain it, and insurance is really expensive for me because I am a full time student. I've been living without a vehicle for about a year, and I am getting tired of relying on people for rides and taking multiple busses to do business downtown.

I need a daily commuter that can take me from my apartment to the university, and around town for errands and stuff.

It would be really awesome if I could take it on extended trips to visit my father a couple hours away. On the weekends.

In a perfect world, I'd like to be able to hit the highway for a day or two and do some camping. I am a photography nut, and I am getting stir crazy not having anything new to photograph.