Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there. This is my first time posting here, but I've heard great things about your forum over on www.gstwins.com (my normal home *laugh*).

Anyway, my GS is slowly succumbing to various mechanical problems that are getting too time (and money)intensive to fix given the value of the bike (16 years old, and lots of miles), and how much I ride (lots, as soon as I fix one problem, another arises). So, naturally, I'm in the market for a new (or slightly used) bike. And, since I started out on the GS500, the SV is a natural step up, though its not the only bike on my list.

So, I have a few questions for those of you with far more SV knowledge than myself.

Firstly, and most importantly: what is the maintainance schedule like, and how is the bike on reliability? I do a *lot* of riding. At the rate I'm going, probably about 40,000-50,000 miles a year. I work as a motorcycle courier in San Francisco, so I do a lot of riding on beaten up city streets, and a lot of freeway miles as well.... so, I'm curious as to the maintanance intervals for a few key items, mostly:

Valve adjustments, clutch, chain/sprockets, fork seals (do they fail much? I dont wheelie, but I do ride on lots of rough pavement, over curbs, etc), etc. I'm especially curious about valve adjustments, as I read somewhere that the SV needs them every 3500 miles or so (which seems a bit ridiculous).

Secondly, of those maintanance issues, any that are too much work for a pretty damned competent amatuer mechanic to knock out in a saturday afternoon? I'd prefer not to have to take my bike to a shop (and thus not be able to use it for work), if possible.