Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the bike business, I am a custom bike painter (www.bdscycles.com)
I've been riding for 25 years, had probably 100 bikes (everything from ST1100's to R1's, to Z1000's, and a slew of things in between!) I've done 3000 mile 7 day road trips, track days, you name it. Ever since the SV650 came out I have had the itch. Ridden a few along the way. I always thought the 2nd generation felt "soul-less" compared to the 1st gen, but the 2nd Gen I rode was stock, and the 1st Gen was all tricked out (suspension, brakes, full exhaust, etc etc etc)

Got a line on one from Canada, it's a 2006 SV650 that is stock. I'm hoping I can inject a little soul into the 2006. I am assuming they make PC3's for these bikes? What sort of difference does a full exhaust make on these bikes, as opposed to just a slip on? Outside of this, some brake and suspension upgrades should do me, but I think I have that stuff mostly covered.....

TIA!

·
Registered
121 Posts
Some thoughts
  • Perhaps connect with the folks in your area with modified SVs and ask if you can test their bike's soul?
  • If you are in love with the Gen1 then go for those - the Gen2 may just lead you on a self-fulfilling prophesy of regret.
  • Seems if you are thinking full exhaust then look for a bike with it already installed.
  • Maybe put up a new post - "How does the Gen1 FEEL compared to a Gen2?"
Good luck!

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
I've had both gens, and the first gen seemed to respond better to a full exhaust... but the second gen with slip on still felt faster according to the butt dyno than my 1gen with a Yoshi rs-3. I got a full exhaust and a pc3 for my second gen, and the gains were in low-midrange mostly, although I don't use WOT much so I wouldn't be a good judge of that.