Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still a newbie with 1100 miles under my belt on my 07 SV. This is my first bike and I've only ridden it and the Eliminator during the MSF course last July. While looking at bikes, I always had the Triumph in mind, but it was a bit over my budget, so I went with the SV based on all the research and I folks I talked to.

There was a Triumph demo truck at Hattar Motorsports in San Rafael, CA over this weekend. I went out yesterday to ride the Street Triple 675...in this bright green color!

Demo route

And wow, such a world of difference between my SV650 and the ST675. Clutch lever operation was very light and shifting gears seemed so effortless. Throttle response was smooth and linear compared to my SV. The seating position I think was a bit better than the SV, at least for me and my 5'8" frame.

To me, with little experience on other bikes, the Triumph seemed more refined in it's operation and smoothness. It felt like it did have power down low and mid range despite it's 13.5k redline. I felt bad about falling in love with another bike. I hope my SV doesn't find out! LOL

But riding mine home, I felt I still made an overall good choice with the SV. But I think my next bike might just be the Street Triple 675.

·
Registered
143 Posts
i am torn between the st675r and the daytona 675... i love riding naked, but sometimes i wish i had that fairing and aggressive riding position...

·
Registered
113 Posts
The Street Triple is an awesome bike. A local dealer had a recent open house and was featuring demo rides, but unfortunately the Street Triple was not in the demo. Oh well, nothing like living vicariously.

·
Registered
4,830 Posts
Actually, the SV has a pretty smooth and linear power curve...the Street Triple just makes more peak power so when you would normally shift the SV, the ST is just pulling hard for another 3,000rpms. The ST makes a bit over 100hp too.