Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm definitely new here, as I should be, since I don't own an sv yet.
My name's Thomas, and I live in southern california.
I've been riding for about 4-5 months now, and I'm ready to sell my first bike and move on to one that I really want.
Right now, I'd like just a little reaffirmation that the sv is that bike.
Granted, I'm 18.
I hope that if you have stereotypes about 18 year olds, you can try to push them aside for the most part.
But I cannot deny that from time to time I get a little agressive on a bike.
No stunting, and no Excessive speeding. Just maybe a little too much leaning. ;D

So to the point of things, I'm headed off to college at UCSD next year, and looking for a bike that can both take care of both the dense rush hour madness of san diego, and keep me comfortable on the 2-4 hour trek to my house/my brothers place/wherever.
It would also be nice if the bike would feel solid were I to take it to a track; that's an area where I hold high interest.

Is the sv650s the bike for me?
I hear complaints about the suspension and brakes, I really do NOT want another never ending project bike.

Not too long ago, I finished pulling the engine out of my 88 ninja 600r, splitting the case halves, and replacing the starter clutch; I'm not afraid of wrenching.
But like I said, I will be expecting a couple rides a month of 120mi+

Please, tell me what you like or don't like about these bikes;
I'm looking pretty intently at taking up a loan and buying one in the 2003 zone, around 5Kmi range.
I like the Idea of fuel injection.
but what else is going on in this equation?
thanks
-Thomas.

afternote: I almost always will make posts way longer than they need be; I'm working on it ;)

·
Registered
84 Posts
hey man this bike is great but.......